Christmas Without You

This is a poem I wrote the year my mum passed away. Even though Christmas has passed, I thought I would share it again as a special tribute to her, my little bird!


I tried to forget you yesterday
Pretended the day wasn’t about you
No celebration, no memorial or tasteful display
Just a drink and a quick prayer to chase out blues

Now the clock is ticking
Santa is drawing near
We’ve put up your Christmas decoration
Since you won’t be here

No struggling, cursing, crying
To get you through the door
And the happy sense of achievement
When your wheels touch the kitchen floor

We won’t choose the meal together
Since last year’s meal was your last
No fighting over whose house to visit
Now that you’re in the past

I’m going to try not to miss you
When I don’t see you sitting there
Children reaching to open their presents
They’ve kept back, so that moment, with you, they could share

Every minute of Christmas this year
Will breathe in for a new tradition
As you, dear Mum won’t be there
Since you’ve taken a life-long intermission.

13 responses to “Christmas Without You

  1. šŸ˜¦ Beautifully written, very heartfelt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hugs to you Eloise. I have tears, again. ā¤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautiful, Eloise. Both of facing our first Christmas without our mums. I know they will be looking down at us and smiling and thinking how glad they are that they don’t have to queue in the shops at this time of year.
    Hugs to you.
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s a very beautiful poem, Eloise. We’re feeling sad when we miss someone because we can’t see them, hear their voices or touch them…but it’s only until we meet again (and I believe that we will) and your lovely Mum is watching over you now. xx

    Liked by 2 people

  5. So sorry to know of your pain…. I am also going through same pain and every word of your poem above is pouring out your emotions and your expressions of missing her. You tried staying strong throughout the day but deep within, it is too hard to accept how our lives change forever after losing our loved ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A lovely tribute, sprinkled with the glitter of appy memories. Flutter away little bird. šŸ’–šŸ¦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment