Monday Coffee

 IMG_0545-4It is one of my favourite days of the week and today I really fancy a chat with you.  Shall we get a coffee at our favourite place?  Let’s go.

It has been an awful weekend with sadness overwhelming any happy moments that have occurred.  So many lives lost over the past week, both man made and natural events.  As we order our beverages, let’s take a moment to think of the families left behind.  

Now I don’t want to scream blue murder, nor do I want to cry and beat my chest in anger.  No, instead I want to raise my cup to the brave souls who have held an injured person’s hand this weekend, or stroked the head of a soul leaving this earth, comforting them in their last breath. It doesn’t have to be under the extreme circumstances, life tends to give us ample opportunity to care for others through all walks of life. I want to smile and thank the medical teams who work tirelessly to save the precious lives of our dear ones and miss their own families to make sure ours stay intact.  I’m sure you get the gist of what I’m trying to say.  It’s only in darkness that we see the stars appear, those beckons of light and hope in a world of confusion and fear.

As we sip our coffee, I’d like to know how your weekend panned out.  Did you achieve all you set out to do, or like me, did quite a few things fall off the list?  I would show you my plans for next year and how I have already set up ridiculous goals for myself and the family, hoping we at least touch some of them.  Did you know that this week, I will be one year older?  Not that it makes much difference as I stopped counting a while back.  My children thought they would do me a favour and picked up the habit for me, adding two more years to my age.  Such kind little sprogs!

How goes your NaNoWriMo?  Are you over the halfway mark yet?  My abysmal attempt this year has been hampered by work and a lack of motivation in my story.  The characters flop around helplessly in my head and should be fired! I need a fiery boost to get me to the end, which will be dire if I fail.  The children I have encouraged to take up the task will not be impressed by an adult who says but does not do.  What do you think I should do to kick my story into gear?

Of course, since we are sitting together, we should discuss cakes, even birthday cakes.  It has been mentioned how delicious the triple chocolate cake displayed at the top of this post looks very appealing.  I think this would make the perfect birthday cake, don’t you?  I hope you will join me for a slice as we discuss the future of my book and your projects.  

Mihran is just about to play a new song for us and before he starts, I just want to say thank you for visiting and sharing a cup with me.

2 responses to “Monday Coffee

  1. I enjoyed our coffee break.. Your characters need to have someone perplexing problem, and when you think it can’t be any worse, it is.
    But don’t leave them without a bright moment. Just like life.

    Like

  2. such beautiful – wow

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment