Response to Suzie81speaks Blog – The WordPress Community Experiment

I have had the good fortune of being directed to another wonderful blogger known as Suzie81speaks. She has nearly a quarter of a million views on her lively blog and is currently conducting an experiment to meet us, the blogging community.

Here’s how it works:

Answer the questions below, either in your own post (link it back to the original one) or in the comment section of her post. They can be as short or as detailed as you like.

The post will remain open for the next three days, during which Suzie81speaks will compile all the answers. Any answers you provide will be directly linked to your blog, and she will include examples of everybody’s answers in the follow up post.

1. How did you create the title for your blog?

I wasn’t too sure what I wanted to do with a blog. I knew I had various interests and wanted a platform to promote my books, but had no experience in the blogging world. The easiest name I could come up with included my thoughts and my nick-name/pseudonym. Combining the two seemed the best solution, so I came up with Thoughts by Mello-Elo and my blog was born!

2. What’s the one bit of blogging advice you would give to new bloggers?

Never be afraid to ask for advice and ideas from blogging forums and participate in as many Writing 101 classes as you can. They give you access to like-minded bloggers who not only have their own wealth of experience, they offer friendship and support for your blog.

3. What is the strangest experience you’ve ever had?

A foreign lady coming up to me in the children’s playground and shouting at me! I couldn’t understand why she shouted at me – I had never seen her before and had not crossed paths with her or the child she was with. She walked across the park to me and starting shouting in a heavy French accent and then walked away. Weird!

4. What is the best thing that anybody has ever said to you?

I made a difference to their lives. I used to volunteer at a children’s cancer ward, entertaining the little ones who were long term patients at the local hospital. The nurses told me that it brightened the children’s outlook knowing that someone would be coming to visit who treated them as normal kids and laughed, blew bubbles and took them out to play for a little while – letting them forget about the everyday worries of being surrounded by illness, death and tired, heartbroken parents. Best thing anyone has ever said to me.

5. When presented with a time machine, which one place and time would you visit?

I would love to go back to a time when ladies wore crinoline dresses and drifted across dance floors like floating flowers, gracefully accepting requests from gentlemen vying to fill their dance cards.

6. If you had to pick a new first name, what would you choose?

Sophia. I love this name and associate it with softness and beauty.

7. If you were a B Movie, what would it be called?

Close Encounters of a Would-Be Reporter!

Please share and reblog these questions, adding your own answers and linking it to Suzie81speaks blog. It was loads of fun thinking up some of these answers and I look forward to reading yours!

Suzie81speaks can also be find on Twitter and Tumblr @suzie81blog, and on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/suzie81speaks.

Happy sharing!

20140814-211644-76604154.jpg

Leave a comment