Monday Coffee

What a glorious day! More guests are coming to join us at our table outside the coffee shop today. With the sun doing its best to roast us like chestnuts, we’d best move to that table under the umbrella. I know that most of us would prefer a cool iced tea instead of coffee, so let us put in our orders before it gets too busy.

I can see Christy! Give her a wave. She has been very busy collecting and writing advice for women applying for college. I know my son is feeling the pressure at the moment as he is choosing universities here in England, and I can only imagine how much harder it is going to be for my daughter, who is a fly-by-night compared to him! Christy’s advice is perfect for this stressful time and I have to admit, I’ve been drip feeding it to my son. Although her article focuses on the hardships women face trying to apply, it is perfect for any child facing the daunting task of choosing a university/college.

Ellen has come to join us. It’s great to see her again. I was reading her latest flash fiction called The Bird Was Witness which was so vivid, so evocative – you definitely need to read her work. This is not the first time Ellen has caught my attention with her flash fiction. She has a way with words that make you sit up and pay attention, transporting you to another place, another time.

The iced tea is perfect for relaxing in the afternoon sun, catching up with blogging friends. Trent has been a very busy bee and though I haven’t had a chance to catch all of his posts, I never miss his Weekly Smile. With all the bad things happening out there, it is rather nice to see a person looking for the positives in his week. Trent’s collection of short stories, Season of Imagination, has not received the attention it deserves and I would encourage you to pick up a copy from the man who created an event to highlight that even a bad week has something good to smile about.

The same can be said for lovely, Annette who has been sharing her words of wisdom and hope with all of us for a while now. As a wordsmith, she’s never short on inspirational quotes or motivational moments in all she does. I think we should bottle her positive attitude and feed it to everyone on hump day.

With so many great people around the table, it makes one want to jump up and write more. What better way than to join Dan with his Word Weaver Writing Contest. If you win, Dan will give you an honest critique of your work and if you’re lucky, he might throw a meme or two into it!

Now, I have to go back to my writing, so I’m going to leave you in the safe hands of Graeme who has just received another great review from Jo at MyChestnutReadingTree for his book, Ravens Gathering which is available from amazon.

Don’t forget to chat to the others and find out what they are doing on their blogs. Drop me a line if you would like to join me for a Monday Coffee (or iced tea). It will be great to see you.

Have a lovely evening.

9 responses to “Monday Coffee

  1. Honored to among those gathered for Monday coffee! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It was great joining you for coffee or iced tea today. Looks like a nice little crowd here, sitting out in the sun. Thanks for inviting everyone to smile with the Weekly Smile and for pointing towards my book.

    I hope you have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Awww 🙂 Thanks for the inclusion at the coffee table – I’m waving and asking, “do you want another cup?” ~ Happy to be here (albeit late, sorry!) ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  4. What a marvelous Monday post, Mello. It was lovely to revisit old friends, and to meet new ones. I realize it’s almost the next Monday, so I’m sorry to be so late. Wishing you a brilliant new week. Mega hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

