The Fledgling’s First Flight

Write to Inspire

For the past few weeks, I’ve been watching a pair of blue tits flitting in and out of a nest box in the farthest corner of my back garden. In the past few days, the arrivals and departures have been as busy as Heathrow airport. I knew that the box must be full of nestlings who continuously twitter for more food. Their parents have worked tirelessly.

Fledgling Blue Tit 01 First Flight

Today, I became very excited when I saw the nestlings become fledglings. I only encountered two of them, but there must have been more. Maisie, mischievous our dachshund-cross-cocker-spaniel chased one of them across the garden until it managed to take off into the rambling rose where I snapped this photograph.

It’s amazing that the can emerge and start flying almost immediately, just as a calf or a foal is up and staggering within an hour of birth. Nature is truly wonderful!

I’ll…

View original post 73 more words

One response to “The Fledgling’s First Flight

  1. That was a sweet post. Thanks for sharing. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

