Tuesday Coffee

Thank you for joining me a day late for our weekly coffee catch up. After a rather tumultuous weekend, I am glad to get a chance to put my feet up and chat to you.

As always, I would love to hear from you on how your weekend went. What was the highlight of the last few days and what were the lows? Feel free to reply in the comments or link your blog post to mine.

I was lucky enough to start my weekend on Friday – our moving day! With a fantastic team to help us pack up and leave on schedule, the day skipped by without much incident. Later that evening, after performing speed unpacking in the kitchen, I left my poor family and shot off in my bat-mobile to a weekend away at an activity centre that promised to be filled with fun and games, and boy, was I not disappointed.

My backpack looked as though I would be staying for a week instead of just a few days, but there had to be space to keep the snacks and drinks necessary for sustaining myself and my fellow workmates. Now it can be quite daunting to go off for a weekend away with the people you work with, especially when you don’t know that that well.  I was pleasantly surprised with the kindness shown by each member of our team and the amount of laughter that was generated by the teaching staff. Setting ourselves challenges to overcome our fears, we plunged into the forest on zip lines, kayaked across a reservoir, abseiled down a tower, played games like crate stacking and pushed ourselves through long walks in the forest. It was an incredible experience and I managed to achieve third place in the archery!

One of the highlights of the weekend was being asked to tell ghost stories around the fire in the middle of the woods. While the light still played tricks with the trees’ shadows, I laid the foundations for a thrilling night and later delivered some urban legends from my home country.  As terrible as it sounds, I was pleased with their terrified responses and felt accomplished. After all, who wants to be a thriller writer and not have the ability to send shivers down companions’ spines during story time?

The end to the long weekend saw me returning to a house that had an organised/chaotic feel to it thanks to my very hardworking family.  Feeling extremely guilty, I got stuck straight into unpacking as many boxes as I could and re-organised our messy garden. With all the exercise I did over the weekend, my body was already aching so it didn’t make much difference to my poor, tired limbs.

While we sit here, in this pretty little kitchen, I am pleased to see my dining room table looking fabulous with its tartan table cloth and fresh flowers parading their colours in a neutral vase. The sitting room is set up and comfy with a cracking fireplace and the bedrooms are spacious, ready to swallow up tired members of the family.  Don’t look to closely along the landing as that seems to be the holding place for the boxes I expelled from my sons’ room this evening. Instead, help yourself to another ginger biscuit and tell me more about your weekend.

 

2 responses to “Tuesday Coffee

  1. Sounds like you had a really fun weekend! My wife’s Aunt came to visit from Florida, and so everyone came over, and we had a big family dinner with lots of laughs. I like when everyone is together talking, and telling stories!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

