Monday Coffee

‘Tis late to meet for a sweet repeat of last week’s tête-á-tête. So, with something new, meet the Jinsy crew and raise your cup to my new poem, select. 


Miscreants of a disadvantageous past

Tricoloured reasoning beyond your grasp

Turn to your forefathers

Are they still around?

Maybe some deadbeat with advice not sound

Fall through the cracks measuring behaviour

A long wish to call you a saviour

Yet as I stand here, watching death’s door

You seem to be the only guardian keeping score

Help transcends age and reason

Colouring my perspective a different season

Once frosty with airs now gracious

Wafting over your magnanimity so spacious

Egregarious sums up my denial

To acknowledge your surly smile

As you weigh tempest over my demise

Your decision my humble surprise.
Charmed by your breadth to spare one so artificial

My love for you is now forged, a sentence of official

Backdrafts of hope sent to guide me your way

The unwanted, the tainted, the hero of the day

Little surprise then once I’m your only guest

After you complete dispatching the rest

I find my discomfort at the base of your shoe

A parting gift for me to rue

After all you did ask me to trust

A neandatholic being of wonderlust.  

4 responses to “Monday Coffee

  1. Great poem. Well done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am raising my cup to your poem, Eloise (and also my glass, my tumbler and beaker)! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

