The Novel is Dead, Long Live the Novel

ZEN AND PI

“The novel’s not dead, it’s not even seriously injured”

Don DeLillo

There were rumors for a long time that physical books would soon be something of the past. Bookstores would go out of business and libraries would become extinct. Once books could be bought for cheap, and hundreds could be carried with you wherever you went no one would want to read those big, bulky things.

Everyone thought that was where we were headed. They were sure, 100% sure, that physical books were dying. My heart broke at the thought, but I looked to the future and tried to keep up with the wave of technology.

 I tried to read a few books on my iPad. I got through The Shining and On Writing by Stephen King on it; I tried a few classics too. I set up bookshelves and wishlists and tried to keep an open mind. I liked…

View original post 1,007 more words

Leave a Reply

