Book Tuesday

Come in! I’ve boiled the kettle and a fresh chocolate cake has been baked in your honour. Feel free to sit anywhere and let’s begin.

Tonight, we will be discussing a book I read quite a few years ago called Drowning Ruth by Christina Schwarz.

DrowningRuth.jpg

In the winter of 1919, a young mother named Mathilda Neumann drowns beneath the ice of a rural Wisconsin lake. The shock of her death dramatically changes the lives of her daughter, troubled sister, and husband. . . . Told in the voices of several of the main characters and skipping back and forth in time, the narrative gradually and tantalizingly reveals the dark family secrets and the unsettling discoveries that lead to the truth of what actually happened the night of the drowning. . . .

Now, to be honest, I was struggling to find a book to discuss at today’s meet, mainly because I have been focusing on writing a short novella for my subscribers to Hot Shot Updates.  It’s the freebie I plan on giving to them with this month’s newsletter.  So, while I was sitting here, trying to scratch my brain to think of an interesting book, I caught sight of Drowning Ruth on my bookshelf and remembered how good it was.

At first, I found it a bit odd, and had to get into the rhythm of the various voices telling the story from their points of view.  The way it was written is fantastic, and similar to my preferred style of writing.  Slipping backwards and forwards in time is always fun and the way the author kept a tight grip on the story-line, giving the reader an enjoyable ride into a suspense-filled story about a little girl and her troubled family.

The relationships between main characters bring a tear to my eye when I think of them as they evoke such an honest, plain look at human behaviour that is real and apparent in everyday life. The yearning of Ruth to be loved, the little girl lost in the middle of this beautiful, twisted story,  is very apparent in the whole plot.  The author has a powerful way of depicting her characters with dark souls and secrets, hidden away behind a facade of good behaviour and morality.  Of course, this slowly scrapes away as the history of the people in this small town in Wisconsin unravels, exposing skeletons and the mystery of the death of Mathilda, Ruth’s mother.

If you like a good suspense and a challenge when it comes to following a string of main characters,then this is the book for you.

http://www.amazon.com/Drowning-Ruth-Novel-Oprahs-Book/dp/0345439104

Thanks for joining me for another Book Tuesday.  I’ll see you again, next week.

Have a great evening.

 

 

Leave a Reply

