Eyeballs

This wonderful post reminds us of how special pets can be and the effect they have on children.

fancypaper

Warning: sad tale afoot!

Cats were always my pets as a child. I wanted a dog. In fact I wanted a specific dog. I wanted the Enid Blyton creation ‘Shadow the Sheepdog’ from the novel I had read and read until the pages came away.

shadow-the-sheep-dog-2.jpg Anyone else love this book? I imagined that he was real and mine!

I imagined I had a dog. Teddies etc. Sad old me!! Then again,  I pretended my bike was a horse too and called it Toffee.

horse-1130195_640.jpg The dream.

Myself and my neighbour (not allowed any pet, strict Mammy, kinda hated our cats ) would play ‘Grand National’ and make a list of horse names. We would then ‘race’ on our horse bikes around the meadow. Yes, we had a meadow. No horses or dogs though! Mainly because we ‘live on the main road to Cork you know!’. The horse was always a pipedream…

View original post 994 more words

One response to “Eyeballs

  1. I am so glad you liked it, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

