Book Tuesday: A Little Romance

Hello and welcome back to Book Tuesday.  As it is nearly Valentine’s Day, I thought I would choose a book from my list of all time favourites: Scarlet Shadows by Emma Drummond.

 

I spent most of my teenage years in my bedroom, emmersed in different worlds from various genres.   My favourite genre was, of course, Romance.  I tried my luck with the normal teenage high school romances, but they lacked reality, especially for a girl like me.  My dad loved supporting the RSPCA and we usually carried away most of the book stand after every fete held to raise money for such a good cause.  This beautiful book sat amidst Frank Yerby and Wilbur Smith, enticing me with its cover.

“Victoria – Destiny was to take her from the ballrooms of 19th century England to the savage battlefields of the Crimea…from the elegant tranquility of a great country house to the tragic squalor of Florence Nightingale’s hospital at Scutari…from dreams of love to the bitterness of marriage…”

There is something wonderful about a well written historical romance; the idea that the reader is walking in the past, following the etiquette, fashion and fantasy of a time we may never capture in our lifetime.  A time when gentlemen bowed to ladies and crinoline dresses were the fashion.  As you draw in a breath, inhaling the passion shared between two young lovers, the historic backdrop sends your blood rushing as the canons blaze and soldiers fall again, reliving their past through your eyes.

Just writing about this book makes we want to read it again.  Unfortunately, my copy is well loved and ratty, but with enough tape to hold the pages together, I will take another trip to see Victoria with her husband, Charles, and Hugo, his adopted brother and captor or her heart!

Scarlet Shadows is still available from Amazon and I would highly recommend it as your Valentine’s Day read!

Have a lovely week and thanks for reading.

2 responses to “Book Tuesday: A Little Romance

  1. I’ve never heard of this book, but it looks interesting. 🙂 Thanks for recommending it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

