Balancing the Scales

Dear Reader,

Only twenty-two days have passed and this year seems to be throwing everything into the mix.  The hamster wheel is definitely speeding up and those not fit enough to keep the pace have fallen away, into the abyss.  Our memories of their lives are the only thing remaining to keep them alive.  Yet, when you think about it, we all disappear; mere grains in the sands of time, memories held in our young relatives’ faces, faded and unclear, but in the dearest of glances, holding on.  As Shakespeare eloquently put it,

When forty winters shall besiege thy brow,

And dig deep trenches in they beauty’s field,

Thy youth’s proud livery, so gaz’d on now,

Will be a tatter’d weed of small worth held:

Then being asked where all thy beauty lies,

Where all the treasure of thy lusty days,

To say within thine own deep sunken eyes

Were an all-eating shame, and thriftless praise.

How much more praise deserved thy beauty’s use

If thou couldst answer, ‘This fair child of mine

Shall sum my count, and make my old excuse,’

Proving his beauty by succession thine.

This were to be new made when thou art old,

And see thy blood warm when thou feel’st it cold.

Tipping the scales in the other direction, our house is now on the market and we are receiving viewings.  It’s rather scary exposing ones inner sanctum for judgement by strangers. I am frantically cleaning every five minutes. My children scoff at me and remark that I’m my x-ray Mummy eyes to spot dirt others would never notice.  Well, my reply is, if I can see it – so can the rest of the world!

February is galloping towards me with a venomous look in its eyes.  So many little jobs to finish off before we use the ‘F’ and cull January.  My book, The Iron Pendulum, should be ready for beta readers by then.  I am hoping more of you sign up to my newsletter Hot Shots Updates, so that I can pick a few lucky readers to get their hands on the first copy.  The sign up link is on my facebook page (still working on getting it linked here) which is

https://facebook.com/eloisebookcorner

Feel free to sign up.  I won’t spam you – I don’t have enough time to do that! It will be a newsletter every few months giving you updates on my books, some freebies, offers and of course, a chance to be a beta reader for me.  Spread the word if you don’t feel the urge to do it yourself.  The more the merrier on this ride!

Apart from that, I have the children’s books to complete and send to my editor.  Once that is ready I will hopefully have two books out this year.  What is that old saying? Man makes his plans and the gods laugh – or something like that.

I do hope your year is moving along nicely.  Let me know how it’s going and if your plans are coming to fruition.

Happy Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

