Facing Mortality

 I’m sitting here thinking about our mortality.  We are trudging around the life-long treadmill only to find a weary end to our existence.  If we are lucky we get in a few years of happiness before the light blots out.  But, how many of us achieve our dreams and expectations before this happens?  How many of us reach the plateau of contentment before the fall?  There are millions of sites dedicated to giving you instructions on how to improve your life, change your habits, eat your way to a healthier lifestyle, reach your goals by placing you feathers in the positions A-B-C!  Whilst we thresh out the bullshit trying to find the right solution, maybe it’s sitting right there, next to us, waiting to be noticed like a wallflower at the dance.
Receiving news that your friend might have the big C can squash your 2016 positive parade faster than a cruncher squashing old scrap in a junkyard.  Add to that the the fact that her mother is slowly fading and there’s nothing we can do about it, and she is the primary care giver since the rest of the family aren’t that interested. It’s a real humdinger of a situation.  Happy new year!  Let’s find that eternal happiness whilst we wade through this shitty situation!  My take on life is…the storms are going to come, the landscape is going to change.  I either stand fast and fight or I get out my waders, my wellies, my overcoat and prepare to hunker down until it passes.  Emotional outbursts will be allowed, just a few, but there’s no room for sappy behaviour until it passes.  My friends react in different ways.  Some cry and want me to cry along, others understand that I don’t tap into that side – it stays internal until it I can’t contain it anymore and it oozes out.  My friend seems to fall under that category and we get on well.  All I can offer is support and love as she closes the latch on her next ride to hell and back. Maybe it will be enough, maybe not.  I don’t know.

So, back to my “how to find the end of the rainbow before you die” spiel. It’s simple.  There is no rainbow. There aren’t any Fix-It Felix makeovers that will last.  It’s mind over matter.  I have known a few bloggers since I’ve joined this bandwagon with such severe sicknesses, I cannot even fathom their positivity. But, they are positive! They send out messages of hope, love, humour and sincerity.  On the blackest of days, they can get a little dark.  I like that.  That for me is the honesty behind it.  Life can’t be rosy everyday.  I salute those bloggers, my friends and all of you for living through your diverse tragedies of life.  Forget the self-help new year new you crap.  Celebrate yourself instead and what you’ve overcome because I can guarantee more adversity is coming your way; more hope, more happiness is coming too.  Be brave enough to grab them whilst you’re wading.  Remember, we aren’t going to be here forever and there’s always a break in the storm.  Breathe in that fresh air when it stops and clean out your worry bags because more is bound to come.  That’s our reality – our mortality.  

I’ll be thinking of you and I hope you will spare a thought for me as we cheer on our mortality and ride it like its our favourite bike (I chose to use a less offensive analogy there!).  Those are my thoughts for today.

6 responses to “Facing Mortality

  1. I really love the raw emotion and open expression in this passionate blog post, Mello-Elo. You have totally thrown it out there, and what you say is so true.

    Fellow bloggers and friends: let’s face the reality of the world together, support each other in times of trouble, share the enjoyment of the fun times and celebrate each others’ successes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Lance Greenfield and commented:
    I really love the raw emotion and open expression in this passionate blog post from Mello-Elo. She has totally thrown it out there, and what she says is so true.

    Fellow bloggers and friends: let’s face the reality of the world together, support each other in times of trouble, share the enjoyment of the fun times and celebrate each others’ successes.

    Like

  3. I’m sorry about your friend.
    This post is great in that it is honest. “There is no rainbow. There aren’t any Fix-It Felix makeovers that will last.” – You are right – we can strive to improve our situation, to be happy and, just as important, to try to make others happy, but our lives aren’t fairy tales. The sooner we figure this out the sooner we can enjoy just living, even though we always know that “living” is a temporary condition.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. Glad you enjoyed it Trent. I figured it was time to go back to my original idea of my blog – to share my honest thoughts, or hopefully discuss topics of a deeper meaning. Thank you, as always, for reading my posts. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monday Coffee | Thoughts by Mello-Elo

Leave a Reply

