Book Tuesday: My Poetry Book

Welcome to a different Book Tuesday.  Today, I will be focussing on my collection of poems simply called My Poetry Book

 Poetry has always been a part of my life.  I recall reciting poems to the rose bush outside my brother’s bedroom window.  Some of the poems would turn into songs which seemed to go on forever, or at least that’s the way my mother felt when she told me to shut up! As I grew, so did my confidence and I ended up showing a friend of mine my poetry.  She came up with the name Mello-Elo for me and the nickname stuck to this day!

Shakespeare shook my world when I discovered his Sonnets.  I was lucky enough to receive a beautiful book with his collection of sonnets and accompanying pictures which brought them to life.   

 His influence challenged my perception of beauty, life and the longevity of love. Most of my poems tackled the darker side of love, delving into the depths of despair and depression.  I recall sending my poetry to a publisher many years ago and their request for a few lighter, happier poems to add to the anthology to counter the darkness!  Unfortunately I couldn’t deliver anything light and airy and I lost the contract.  Roll on many more years and I have managed to create a collection that moves through joy, love, pain, hurt and back to hope.  I have ordered the poems to flow with a life, a romance within themselves describing the emotions we subject ourselves to when we succumb to love.  Added into the mix are my own quotes, some humorous, some meaningful. 

 Here is a taster for reading pleasure…

Moving On

Sluggish passing ships carried my memories away

Slowly, quietly, fading like day

A new light was shown to all who cared to see

No recollections for those now set free


Acquiescing to the loss of my former years

I look to the future to cry new tears

Life begins again as the river flows on

My life cannot suspend on things that have gone


For fear of the ships passing my way again

I have jumped onto the first boat of a lonely friend

But alas, it was the wrong one for I see the men

Who will strain the heart and to its death, repeatedly send


In resolution of which way to turn

I have now selected to slowly burn

Upon the ashes of the dead memories

At least there I know I will not be dashed in the lonely seas


A Mello quote…

Mischief is the nymph of good,

Guided by the dark knight of lust,

Befriended by the demons of the soul

And humoured by the corruption of the heart.


My Poetry Book is available from http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/eloisedesousa

I hope you enjoyed this week’s book highlight.  Have a great week. πŸ˜€

6 responses to “Book Tuesday: My Poetry Book

  1. You need to post more poetry πŸ™‚ Without, of course, giving away your whole book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Trent.

    You are very good, Mello-Elo!

    But, my suggestion is, rather than give away more from your book. Make up some new ones for the delight of us, your blogging friends.

    Sorry, that seems a bit indulgent and selfish, but the request is only a sign of our appreciation for you talent.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know Eloise that you have brought me to tears with your prose. Please write more poetry. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

