Monday Coffee

Here we are, warm and snug in my bat cave enjoying a strong brew of Colombian coffee. Tinsel and twinkling lights profile your face in dark and light shadows as we listen to soft music from Katie Mellua.  It is a very chilled evening after last week’s dinner party at the coffee house.  I’m glad it’s a bit more subdued this week and in an intimate location because I didn’t get a chance to chat to you last week.

So, how are you?  Did the week bring anything new?  Trent celebrated his bloggiversary and reaching 1000 followers this week and mentioned how hard it can be at times to keep up with all our friends in the bloggosphere. I find it difficult to comment every time I visit as I am pressed for time and usually quickly reading your latest post before going to my next chore/mission/job! How do you cope with visiting blogging friends? He wasn’t the only one to celebrate his bloggiversary as Teagan just celebrated hers on the 2nd of December. Her series of books have been a source of entertainment and I would definitely recommend you visit both bloggers when you get a chance.

I have a nasty cold at the moment and it’s an absolute torment to breathe.  Nevertheless, your company lifts my spirits and the lovely aroma of the coffee is slowly permeating through my blocked sinuses.  Will you be getting time off work for the Christmas holidays?  I know that quite a few companies close during the holiday season, but others don’t.  Which category do you fall under.

Did I tell you about my books?   They were wiped from my son’s computer during the NaNoWriMo month and I lost over a year’s worth of writing.  Some it it was backed up but it was such an old version, I would have to start editing and creating again.  Fun times.  This, of course, puts a damper on my launch of Cecil The Bully until next year.  I have to admit it has knocked me for a six and I almost feel like throwing in the towel.  I’m not angry, just tired and disappointed that I didn’t back up more frequently.  This lesson has taught me one thing though – to get my own computer!  Has anything ever happened to your work leaving you gasping for solutions?  I think I need to take a page out of Victoria’s book and just let it go. She wrote a fantastic piece about nature and the truth of our work ethic.

The one thing I love about being a part of the blogging community is the inspiration it gives when you are feeling low.  Take Brey for example; she is following her dreams and has just found out that she cannot complete grad school to become a teacher without a little help.  Has that stopped her?  No!  She has set up a gofundme page and has asked her fellow bloggers and friends to help her out. Now that is enough to stop the pity party about my books!  I wish her all the best and hope you get a chance to visit her page.
Well, I have rattled on, so whilst I refill our mugs, fill me in on your day…

6 responses to “Monday Coffee

  1. Oh Mello… having a cold is absolutely miserable; I’m sorry. 😦
    Thank you for thinking of me and for the mention. Hang in there and just focus on getting better. Wishing you well — and mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Mello! I think I call you something else every time I talk to you, but I like both Eloise and Mello so…. 🙂 Actually my bloggiversary was about a month ago, I just brought it up because several things happened within a month.

    Oh, that is so awful that you lost your writing! Whatever you do, don’t throw in the towel! I really like your style and the bit of Cecil I read was very good. Get your own computer and back up often. I have all of my writing on a USB memory stick – it’s relatively inexpensive and can hold a lot of writing. You can throw it in your purse and so have your writing with you no matter where you are. Or you can join the modern age and get some free cloud storage and throw everything into the cloud.

    I’m just getting over my cold. I’m coughing a bit, but the worst is in the past. I hope you get over yours soon and have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Trent, I don’t mind either name 😀. Sorry I didn’t realise it was last month! Happy bloggiversary anyway – and well done on your milestone. Thank you for the vote of confidence in my writing. I am second guessing my ability to write something decent. Definitely, backing up is the way forward!
      Glad you’re feeling better. These winter colds are a pain. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So sorry to hear you losing all that hard work, Eloise. I hope the cold gets better soon and that it will be a distant memory by the time Father Christmas pops down your chimney.

    Hugs to you,
    Hugh
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

