RonovanWrites #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt #Challenge #59 Bird & Red

✨The Fairy Whisperer ✨Colleen Chesebro✨

The haiku prompt words (bird and red) from Ronovan touched a tender spot in my heart this week. Eighteen years ago I lost my sister to a battle with brain cancer.

I remember at her graveside service back in Wisconsin, my nieces and nephew watched as a lone red cardinal high up in a branch kept watch over the proceedings far below. My oldest niece remarked that my sister, Kathryn loved cardinals. It was at that exact moment that we all looked at each other and cried. We knew Kathy’s spirit was right there with us and she had coaxed that cardinal to reassure us and let us know that her spirit would live on in the bright red birds she so adored.

To this day, I cannot look at a cardinal without the knowledge that my sister is close by. We have been fortunate to witness two families…

View original post 33 more words

Leave a Reply

