Hard Thursday

I’ve been good this week.  Tear ducts were dry and barren through the prep work for Bird’s send off.  

Until today.

Today was a challenge.  So many moments flared my sensitive nose and treacherous eyes; hugs from friends, close family and loving workmates set me off like a timed sprinkler system.  I almost questioned why I had come in to work to act like their personal tragedy walking around the library.  

Almost.

It was during our morning mass, as I sat there promising myself I wouldn’t tear up, that my friend/workmate leaned over and whispered, “If it gets too bad, I’ll hold your hand.” Such a simple thing to say, but it warmed me up and made me giggle.  I could picture the children sitting at our feet looking at us as if we were completely mad.  It made me want to laugh out loud.  I realised that I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else but in the fold of friends who find the time to make you laugh when tears are the easiest things to reach.

Later, I sat in the library smiling at the passing teachers and the innocent faces of the children going to class.  My mind drifted to a message a friend had sent.  She pointed out this moment in life was like Dorothy riding through the storm that whipped her away from all she loved into the midst of a tornado with no direction to get home. Emotions might be in turmoil, but you meet amazing people along the way.  People who might normally feel like strangers that are willing to go out of their way to make you feel better.  People who message to find out if you’re okay, or send food, spend time with you, send cards and teddy bears and flowers.  People who don’t really have to but they do.

Yes, the wicked witch of sadness might be circling with her crying monkeys of terror, but there is always someone there to chase her away.

I checked my shoes to see if they had turned red and I clicked them together three times just for the fun of it.  

There’s no place like home!

Picture Courtesy of flavorwire.com

5 responses to “Hard Thursday

  1. Love and hugs to you Eloise. ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–

    Like

  2. What a beautiful post, so uplifting. I’m so glad you have people in your life who can hold your hand and just be there when you need them. It’s the little things that are important and have the greatest impact because, put them together, and they make us stronger. Especially when we’re feeling fragile.

    Like

  3. Sending you lots of love and am thinking about you. I want to return the kindness you gave to me during my time in this uncharted territory.
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

