Late night coffee

It is with great pleasure that I share my coffee blog with you from a live location with an actual blogger sitting across from me! Yes, I was lucky enough to meet an author, blogger and friend for a Starbucks coffee earlier this evening after hobnobbing with wonderful intellectuals at a special workshop targeting the enhancement of Southern African countries. It was Lance Greenfield, author of Eleven Miles, who invited me to come along to this event and get a chance to promote my work to fellow Southern Africans.

The event was a success and I got to meet a variety of talented people in their own right. Lance was in his element chatting about his book and his friend Boikanyo who was one of the organisers. We were lucky enough to meet the Mayor and chat to him about literature, his term in office and the wonderful things he has achieved. His positivity and support for the evening was felt by all.

After exchanging details and promising to keep in touch with new found friends, we headed back to our lovely Bershire, but of course we had to make one special stop…at a local coffee house! It felt surreal to sit across from a fellow blogger and chat freely about things we could only get across in short bursts of conversation over the Internet. Lance chose a panini and coffee Americano whilst I stayed true to my classical hot chocolate and BLT. After filling our tummies and chatting incessantly, it was time to jump back into the car to continue the two hour journey back to my house.

Lance, ever the gentleman, saw me to my door, delivering me safely into the awaiting arms of the Hubble and munchkins. Promises we made for more coffee meet ups and hopefully a dinner too and Lance continued on his hour long journey to get home.

Thank you Lance for including me in your special day and I hope that the friends we met today stay in contact and I wish them every success in promoting the Southern African culture and heritage for the future generations. Best of luck to Lance and Boikanyo on their fantastic book and I am sure it will be a great success.

And of course to all my fellow bloggers – I missed you tonight and wished you could have been there with us for the coffee, the chats and the laughter. Today has inspired me to work hard so that one day I can throw a huge coffee meet up and invite you all from around the world to join us.

IMG_6827

IMG_6829

IMG_6832

IMG_6826

IMG_6823

IMG_6821

12 responses to “Late night coffee

  1. Amazing! Such a beautiful opportunity, girl. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Lance Greenfield and commented:
    It was a real pleasure for me to have Eloise joining me today and supporting me so well. She was also able to speak for a short while about her own writing too. As we met on NaNoWriMo 2014, it was most appropriate. There were many connections to her true home in Harare, and we were both made to feel most welcome. I am now an official, honorary Southern African Scotsman!

    To finish off the evening by turning our blogging, virtual coffee meetings into reality, really was the icing on the cake of a wonderful day, although we both managed to avoid the real, physical, sugary cake!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds wonderful! Wish I could have been there too. Lovely pictures. Thanks for sharingπŸ’–πŸŒΉ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great day, Eloise. I’m so pleased to hear it went so well for both Lance and you. It must have been quite strange actually meeting somebody from here on WordPress. We all talk about our blogging communities, but I’ve hardly heard of bloggers actually meeting up.

    Congratulations to you both, and thank you for sharing the experience with us all.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Explains why you were tweeting at 1 am. Sounds great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

