Saturday Night Confessions

It’s another late one tonight as I’m on my own for the next week. The Hubble has gone on a business trip leaving me with the twiglets and functions to get to over the next few days.

On the drive home Just now, I was thinking how quite a few people I know hate driving in the dark. I find it stimulating and far easier that daytime driving. There are those few weirdos that veer from side to side and the tired drivers that slow and speed sporadically as their auto drive settles in. For me, it’s the beauty of the flashing lights, the cats eyes blinking back at my headlights and the knowledge that my concentration has to be 110%. I love it!

Thrilled as I am about driving at night, you’re probably waiting for my Saturday night confession. Well, tonight I’m struggling to find something to confess about – not for lack of things to say, but thinking of the consequences of saying them out loud. Whispering the sweet nothings to you is the easy part. Living with the repercussions…not so much!

Okay, after deliberating, just before midnight, I will share a bit of my past with you. When I was younger I had a fierce temper. It aggravated me that my brother was the “golden boy” and I was born to be his playmate. They obviously wanted another boy because I could climb better than him, make mud pies and never stood down from a fight. One day, when we were left to our own devices, he used his older brother status to bully me out of an orange. Yes, I’m blushing at the thought. In my defence, I really wanted that orange and the fact that he thought he could just take it from me threw me into an uncontrollable rage. We stated fighting and of course it escalated to the point where he was laughing at my poor attempts to punch him and I grabbed the nearest thing I could find to strike him. (I told you I was dangerous!)

Well, to make a long story short, he thought it a good idea to run away from me and sprinted off into the garden. I followed and from the kitchen door mapped his route and threw the object, which turned out to be a Rubix cube. My aim was accurate and I caught him just above the temple from over five metres away at a full sprint. Yes, I can hear the arrogance in my own voice, but you have to admit that was pretty impressive for a seven year old! He fell and I felt the guilt squashing all the hatred and anger down into a little pile whilst I ran to see if he was okay. Turns out Rubix cubes are pretty lethal, judging by the gash on the side of his head.

I was terrified of what my parents would say when they got home and our nanny arrived in time to see the blood! As usual, she was not impressed with me and my brother was fuming mad. He was fine in the end – a light dressing and some feeble excuse that he caught his head on the low branch of a tree covered up the sustained injury. I had to pay for it for the next few weeks as he threatened to tell my parents if I did not do his chores!

What were your siblings like growing up? Do you have any hair raising stories to tell of near misses?

I have to add that I am a much calmer person now and would never think of throwing an object at a person…promise! 😉

Send in your Saturday Night Confession. I’m looking forward to hearing your stories too.

10 responses to “Saturday Night Confessions

  1. Great story! I’ll have to consider if I have any confessions (that I can say out loud!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like driving at night too. But the required power of concentration keeps my brain ticking for hours after the journey is over. There is no possibility of sleep for at least two hours.

    My little sister was usually OK, although if I didn’t give let her have her own way she would hit herself in the tummy, then go and tell Mum that I had hit her. I would be in terrible trouble!

    But the funniest trouble she ever got me in to was when she came home from a birthday party and told Mum that she had recited the poem that I had taught her. It was rather naughty, and she was only six at the time. You can read the full story here.

    Like

  3. When I first left home I was a full time nanny. Twice I helped pack up and move the same family. Much work, and I was proud of being indispensable to them. I liked that feeling. At some point in the packing up my butter fingers dropped a crystal champagne glass. I hid it and never owned up to it. Thirty years later I still remember the mom’s voice, knowing someone had to have done it, and that left only I, the husband, or one of the children. But I never was brave enough to admit it. This still bothers me.

    I think part of it was that once I already panicked and lied, I didn’t want her to know I lied. The times in my life that I lied can be counted on one hand. I just don’t do it. I would rather deal with the consequences of whatever embarrassment something causes. I will be seeing her soon and I can’t help but wonder if I will have the courage finally to ‘fess up. I think I will. I was barely a snip of a girl then and now I have raised my own children.

    There that is my confession. 🙂 a little late.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for being brave.
      There are moments in all our lives that haunt us. I’m sure she will laugh about it if you decide to ‘fess up – maybe take a new set with you if you can. It’s fantastic that you are still in touch with them and I’m sure they will always value you no matter what.

      Thanks again for taking the time to leave your confession. 😀

      Like

  4. Oh great confession..I have brother too a younger brother. We got into a fight once and I hot with a hairbrush and he bruised his lip…I give up! your confession is much better..:D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

