Monday Coffee

The air is vibrating with a thousand voices. The coffee house we share has been buzzing. One thought, one voice shouts above the rest and we all listen, enthralled by the message. It is not one of anger, nor of hate. It is a voice of hope – the hope that we can all make a difference in a world filled with voilence, abuse, hatred and a lack of compassion.

Voices from around the world sing together, sharing words that uplift instead of demean, stories that inspire others to give compassion and kindness. Yes, it is an exciting place to be in our little coffee shop.

My story is about a woman that I have known for a few years now. She has two little boys and a chocolate Labrador called Cocoa. That would be enough for anyone to be happy, but no, not her. She has dedicated her life and family to helping foster children from around the borough, giving them a safe, loving home to call their own for as long as they require one. Her deeds are indeed selfless because she never calls attention to herself or claims glory for her kindness. Instead she volunteers her extra time at a homeless shelter two days a week. I am in awe of her. She is my inspiration to get off my butt and do more for others. Her compassion and love for children is outstanding and her bubbly personality brings a smile to everyone’s face. She is my story of compassion today.
IMG_3586.JPG
As I sit with you enjoying my coffee, I hope my story brings a smile to your face because the thought of this lovely lady certainly brings a smile to mine!

19 responses to “Monday Coffee

  1. wow – I am still waiting to have my invitation as you promised to join you all for that wonderful coffee….

    Like

  2. Thanks for the coffee, the company, and the inspiration – I do indeed have a smile on my face 🙂

    Like

  3. It is wonderful that you have recognised this inspirational lady for her deeds and taken the trouble to tell us about her in the coffee club. There are thousands of people around the world who do similar deeds which go totally unrecognised. I love to hear stories like this, so thank you Eloise.

    On the other side of the coin, it angers me that somebody who sits in Whitehall, and went to Roedean or Eton, gets a top national honour for being typing 60 wpm! But that’s a topic for a whole different coffee morning.

    Like

  4. Just so you know, Eloise. It is perfectly ok for you to tweet these again on Saturday or Sunday (or both) to #WeekendCoffeeShare so I can retweet it while the weekend crowd is around. It is also ok to tweet these to #SundayBlogShare, and that will sometimes get you a lot of retweets.

    Like

  5. That’s a really lovey story. People can be so inspiring sometimes!

    Glad you added it to the blog share. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for that story. She does sound like one of the special ones that too often go unnoticed. I’m glad you told us about her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

