#Wensfriesday New Year’s Eve

We couldn’t have asked for a better day for New Year’s Eve to fall on! Our mid-week break, our mid-week treats! The combination of chocolates, cheese, pickles and wine. Yum!

As we celebrate the end of one year and the beginning of another, let’s not reminisce on the bad things. Let’s pluck the good strings for a change and focus on what went right. Spare a thought for all those families that have lost loved ones over this Christmas period (there have been many!) and say a prayer of thanks for all we have, whether it’s a little load or a big one. For those who don’t pray, maybe thank your lucky stars.

I read a post yesterday and the lovely lady asked if I have any special resolutions. My response was no. I don’t like making resolutions because I always set myself up to fail. Lose weight, read more, study more, shout at the kids less. All these things are determined on what life throws at you so promising yourself not to react in your normal way is kind of setting yourself up for the big fail. Instead, I promise myself to be the best image of me. Take the time to think of what others are going through before reacting. Save some space to do one kind deed when the opportunity arises. Yes! Yes! I know…they sound like resolutions. My argument is – these statements are more a way of living your life, of taking a time out to do a stopover at decent humane behaviour before making rash selfish decisions.

Temptation is always there, ready to pull us back into our selfish ways. Maybe it’s worth the fight to resist, to reason and resolve to act humanely. I’m sure most of you do this already so it won’t be hard. The differences these decisions make on one’s life exponentially affects those around you and benefits more. Like a sweetie explosion!
IMG_3688.JPGIMG_3518.JPG
So on this last day of 2014 I ask that you spend those moments you would normally use for making resolutions to resolve to be the best version of yourself. Expect failures, accept them. But pick up your best self, dust it off and put it back on again! You are the sweets, the chocolates, the treats of this world. It’s just a matter of sharing that goodness with others. You can only do that with practice.

Happy New Year everyone. May the best of your past be the worst of your futures!

10 responses to “#Wensfriesday New Year’s Eve

  1. I accept your advice, and will always strive to become a better version of myself. But I shall still be making New Year’s Resolutions for 2015. I’ll publish them on my own blog Greenfield ParLance, later today or early tomorrow, so that you can all hold me to account.

    I succeeded on all but one in 2014, and that was one that I deliberately discarded early on.

    Like

  2. Much love, luck, happiness and fortune will come your way this year! I feel it in my bones. ❤

    Like

  3. Thank you for the wonderful advice. Happy new year 🙂

    Like

  4. Pozdrawiam i życzę szczęśliwego Nowego Roku 2015

    Like

Leave a Reply

