Zero

I begin with nothing.
When I leave I take the empty hopes,
Futile love, passion unspent.
The zero of my body lying
Against the faceless casket
Not seeing the tears I hope fall
For a life filled but now empty.

While I breathe, I hold back the nothing,
The zero that exists between death and life.
I fill my cup with memories
Brazen, hot and brimming,
Till I can’t breathe with the fire.

You hold a part of those memories,
Even a smile or passing hello
No zeros are left from contact
Only loneliness gives an empty chill.

Copyright held by Eloise De Sousa (2014). All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

